6 Seasons

6 Seasons

A season is a part of a year that is determined on the basis of a specific universal formula. The seasons of the year are usually divided based on the local weather. In most countries of the world, spring, summer, autumn, and winter are the four main seasons. The people of some countries have further divided the seasons into several parts. There are 6 seasons in the northern states including Bangladesh, India, and Australia.


The seasons are determined by changes in weather, biodiversity, and daylight. Besides, the annual rotation of the earth around the sun is related to the change of seasons. Seasons play an important role in biodiversity. Flowers bloom especially in spring; Hedgehogs sleep in the winter and we soon realize that the season has been changed.


There are two seasons in the tropics. Rainy season and Dry season. Besides, there are two seasons in the winter area. Polar Day (spring and summer) and Polar Night (autumn and winter).

Bengali Calendar

According to the Bengali calendar, there are 6 seasons. A season consists of two months. The following table describes these seasons: - The name of the season is the name of the last Bengali month Summer Mid-April Mid-June Boishakh, Senior Monsoon Mid-June Mid-August Ashar, Shravan Autumn Mid-August Mid-October Bhadra, Ashwin Autumn Mid-October Mid-December Kartik, Agrahayan Winter Mid-December Mid-February Poush, Magh Spring Mid-February Mid-April Falgun, Chaitra


Seasons in Bangladesh are divided into 6 seasons based on weather and climate. Namely: summer, rainy season, autumn, late autumn, winter, and spring. Each season has its own unique characteristics. Although the periods of all the seasons are not the same, the calendar year is divided into several seasons of the same periods for the convenience of calculation. For example, in Bangladesh, the duration of each of the six seasons is two months which is around 60 days.


Due to its location in a huge geographical area, India has a diverse climate. According to the Koppen climate classification, there are six major meteorological sub-classes in India. For example, deserts in the west, alpine tundra and glaciers in the north, tropical wetlands in the southwest and islands. In some areas, different local climates are also observed. There are four major seasons in the country. Among them - winter (January-February), summer (March to May), monsoon (June to September) and autumn (October to December).


Seasons are determined by mainly temperature and other characteristics due to weather conditions. Here summer is considered the hottest time of the year on a quarterly basis and winter is considered the coldest time of the year on a quarterly basis. According to this calculation, the Roman calendar has started and the spring season has been observed from March 1. Also, each season consists of 3 months. In 1780, the ancient meteorological organization "Societas Meteorologica Palatina" identified three full months as seasons. Since then, professional meteorologists around the world have used this definition as a model.

Season description


According to the Bengali calendar, the first two months of the year are Boishakh and Jyastha are summers. During this time the land is heated by the intense heat of the sun, the water dries up, many rivers lose their normal navigability, the waterless soil cracks and drought occurs on unfertile lands. Different seasonal fruits can be seen on the trees, such as: mango, jackfruit, litchi etc. Kalbaishakhi occurs in this season bringing huge storms and thunder ending the scorching heat of the sun temporarily.

The rainy season

According to the Bengali calendar, the next season of summer is the rainy season. At that time, heavy and torrential rains relieves all the heat of summer. Roads become very muddy. The rivers and canals become almost full and awaken a new dimension in nature. The rainy season consists of the months of Ashar and Srabon. At this time rivers and canals are filled with water. In this season the fishes including Hilsha reach at their full. This adds a new vibe of eating fishes in the rainy season. Autumn Autumn is the month of Bhadra and Ashwin. This is considered the third season of the year. At this time brass flowers like lotus, water lily etc. bloom. White clouds float in the sky. At this time the air temperature gradually decreases. At night dews can be seen on grasses and leaves.

Late Autumn

Kartik and Agrahayan are the two months of late autumn. This is the fourth season of the year. In this season the farmers are busy in harvesting. The festival of Nabanna begins in every house.


Poush and Magh - these two months combine to form winter. During winter, different types of cakes and sweets are eaten with date juice. Winter is considered to be the ideal and suitable time for picnics. Jujube fruit grows in this season. At the end of this season the leaves of trees fall out making the trees look like they are bald.


Falgun and Chaitra together make spring season. Spring is recognized as the last season in the Bengali calendar year. In this season the tree grows new leaves and flowers adding a new dimension to the beauty of nature. Due to the changes of climate, the spring season is known as the king of the seasons. Spring celebrations are held in many places.

Embed current month Bangla Calendar, Copy/Paste the following code to your site